Help, Support, and Contact Information:

WHPO Radio | 101 Country

Local News & Information

Vermilion County Primary has few challenged races

DANVILLE — It will be an uneventful primary election in Vermilion County, with only three contested races on the ballot for March.
Monday marked the last opportunity for incumbents and challengers to step up and file the appropriate election petitions and run in the March primary election. And while more than 30 candidates filed for federal, state and local races, few will be forced to square off in the primary.

The highest level race in the primary locally will be the battle for the judge’s vacancy in Vermilion County Circuit Court. Three Democrats — attorneys Ed Barney of Westville and Daniel Brown of Danville and Associate Judge Karen Wall of Danville — will face off in March.
The other contested races fall on the county board, where Democrats Orick “Corky” Nightlinger, John Criswell, Robert Watson and Chad Turner will vie for two seats in District 5. On the Republican side, incumbent Todd Johnson will face challenges from Darrell Cambron of Rankin and Larry Baughn of Hoopeston for the two seats in District 1.
A lottery will be conducted for who will be listed first on the ballot for the race in District 5 as well as District 7. The county has until Dec. 11 to conduct a lottery for simultaneous filings the first day. There were no simultaneous filings in the last hour on Monday.
Two seats are open in County Board Districts 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9 and one seat in Districts, 2, 4, 6 and 8.
The deadline to file any objection to election petitions is Dec. 9. One petition was contested and eventually removed in the 2012 election.
Here are the filings received in Danville and, for certain offices, in Springfield as of the end of Monday:
U.S. Representative, 15th District — Incumbent John Shimkus, R-Collinsville; Challenger Eric Thorsland, D, Mahomet
State Senator, 51st District — Incumbent Chapin Rose, R-Mahomet
State Representative, 102nd District — Incumbent Adam Brown, R-Champaign; Challenger Matt Forcum, D-Mode
State Representative, 104th District — Incumbent Chad Hays, R-Catlin
State Representative, 106th District —Incumbent Josh Harms, R-Watseka; Challenger William Nutter, D-Watseka
Judge, Fifth Judicial Circuit — Democrats Ed Barney of Westville, Karen Wall of Danville and Daniel Brown of Danville; Republican Thomas O’Shaughnessy of Catlin
County treasurer — Incumbent Sue Stine, R-Catlin
County clerk — Incumbent Lynn Foster, D-Danville; challenger Cathy Jenkins, R-Georgetown
Sheriff —Incumbent Pat Hartshorn, R-Danville
County Board District 1 — Incumbent Todd Johnson, R-Hoopeston; Challenger Darrell Cambron, R-Rankin, and Larry Baughn, R-Hoopeston
County Board District 2 — Incumbent Mike Marron, R-Fithian
County Board District 3 — Incumbent David Stone, R-Catlin; Challenger Steve Fourez, R-Fairmount
County Board District 4 — Challenger Adam Hart, R-Georgetown
County Board District 5 —Incumbents Orick “Corky” Nightlinger, D-Danville, and John Criswell, D-Tilton; Challengers Robert Watson, D-Tilton, and Chad Turner, D-Danville
County Board District 6 —Challengers Frank Wright, D-Danville, and Wesley Bieritz, R-Danville
County Board District 7 —Incumbents Mike Dodge, D-Danville, A.J. Wright, D-Danville; Challenger Craig Golden, R-Danville
County Board District 8 —Incumbent Ivadale Foster, D-Danville; Challenger Brad Wheeler, R-Danville
County Board District 9 — Incumbents Bruce Stark, D-Danville, and Larry Davis, D-Danville

Back to News